top of page

Blog

  • Writer's pictureRoots and Wings Women

Love

I don't celebrate Valentine's Day - it's probably my least favorite holiday honestly - however I think that our world in general needs a little more love and acceptance and support. Love can be found in so many various forms throughout our world and for me - seeking and giving love in all forms is an integral part of who I am and how I choose to interact with the world every day.

However, over my journeys in recent years I've thought about love and how we as a culture typically treat love and those we claim to love. Too often it seems like love is treated as a chain instead of like wind to lift those people claim to love, to keep loved ones connected to them rather than encouraging them to grow, blossom, and reach all potential. Why do people feel a need to tie down, tether, control instead of freeing, releasing and encouraging growth? Does love need to be limiting or should it be more expanding? Shouldn't love be uplifting, supporting, freeing and celebrating?

Love should leave us all freer, stronger, and safer to be who and what we are meant to be rather than caging, constraining and limiting. Love should be wild and strengthening to everyone. Connections are made stronger when they are freely and naturally occurring. Freedom of motion is also what allows us and our connections to grow and expand and support rather than stiffening and limiting growth.

"Everything wants to be loved. Us sing and dance and holler, just trying to be loved." Alice Walker, The Color Purple

bottom of page